britinbali

One girl One mat One heart One love. OM

It’s beginning to look a lot like…. December 15, 2012

Filed under: bali,gratitude,holidays,travel,yoga — britpressley @ 5:48 am

I never wanted to leave. But the time finally came. As I sat in the lobby of my last hotel I suddenly noticed that Christmas music was playing. I hadnt really thought about christmas, since beach and 80 degree weather don’t really illicit the holiday mood. However as silent night played through the speakers I actually got a little sentimental. I didn’t want to the leave the beauty and warmth, but I was ready to go home. To see my family and my friends and to hug my kittens and snuggle up by the fire place.
I have learned so much these last few weeks and I hope I can maintain the peace and comfort I’ve found here. I know it will be difficult but I want to really try. Mediation comes easy when you’re on a beach in the sunset. Perhaps not so easy when you live In a bustling metropolis. But I’m committed to trying.
I am so grateful to have had this opportunity. I want to especially thank my father for his support and love and his help In making this trip a reality for me. It was the best Christmas,birthday and everything present a daughter could ever have. Thank you to my whole family for their patience and encouragement. I love you all so much.
Since I’m no longer “Brit In Bali” I’m not sure if I’ll continue to blog. But perhaps I can maintain the spirit of Brit in Bali and share some stories from time to time.
Gratitude is the greatest lesson I’ve learned. I read a study that showed people who take the time to write down 3 things they are grateful for everyday live exceptionally more happy lives than those who don’t.
So take a minute or 2 today, tomorrow and forever to remember what you’re grateful for. You do t have to think too hard to realize there are so many things to be grateful for. Give it a try. You may find yourself smiling just a little bit more.
Namaste, Om Swastiastu and Merry Christmas,

 

Leave a Reply

